Day 23..How did I get a teaching job?

Can you say being in the right place at the right time?  I loved college so much, I stayed.  I became house mother for my sorority and student taught in a local town.  A teacher had just passed away and I was subbing for her. The principal, Mr. Crum walked in and ask me to tell the class about their teacher dying  and I would be her replacement. I said no that was his responsibility,  but” thank you for the job”.  After 3 years, I moved to Michigan and needed a job again.  Right before school started, an Art teacher resigned her position and they were desperate.  Mr. DeYoung was holding my resume and asked me to interview.  ( I was leaving 1st grade to take on High School Art)  After 5 minutes, he said; I was hired and it was going to be fine and would I also coach the Freshman Cheerleaders?  I said, ” thank you for the job”.  I taught High School Art for 2 years and then moved back to Illinois. There was  no teaching job in sight.   I had a friend that was a traveling Speech teacher and she was sure that the rumor in the teacher’s lounge was that the art teacher met a great guy in a Piano bar (her friend, the music teacher was the pianist) downtown Chicago.  I called the Assistant Superintendent and asked if I could apply for the Art Position. He said he didn’t have one and I said, I think you do; she had already moved to California and was calling in sick.  Sure enough, he called me back. I was hired. Thank goodness for love at first sight.   The third time was the charm. I’ve been here for 35 years.  It pays to be in the right place at the right time. THIS IS IT!

7 thoughts on “Day 23..How did I get a teaching job?”

Leave a Reply

